Don’t Think – Feel*

The 7th Student Grade (abbreviated to 7SG) is the first of three grades which together make up the Intermediate Stage of the FWTS Training Programme.

The purpose of the 7SG programme is to introduce the third layer of skills & knowledge. You can already deliver and defend against all classes of attack using the primary AND secondary strategies. You have built both your primary and secondary toolkits, and you can work effectively at basic attack range, and Siu-Nim-Tao range too. Now you’ll start penetrating even deeper, into the next range of combat, and begin exploring the possibilities there.

At this range, you’re close enough to your opponent to allow both arms and one leg to be used offensively – and the same is true for them too. Both of you can engage (leading to the situation called Mutual Engagement), and small gaps in each others defence can quickly be exploited.

Like water rushing through a crack in a dam, small gaps can rapidly turn into floods as the incoming pressure overwhelms you. It happens fast, and you’ll have no time to think – this close, your pressure should let you feel the gaps, and react accordingly.

This is the exact range which the Chum-Kiu Chi-Sao programmes teach you to cope with, and 7SG is the start of this training. Such close range also allows for the effective use of elbows, so let’s start learning how to use them.

*Yes, well spotted. It’s Bruce Lee’s classic quote from Enter The Dragon.

FWTS | 7SG Grade Icon

7SG Syllabus

The syllabus is a summary of all topics which you’ll cover during the 7th Student Grade training programme.

Download “7SG Syllabus”

fwts_syllabus_7sg.pdf – Downloaded 1633 times – 105.82 KB

7SG Training Programme

The training programme expands upon each topic of the syllabus, adds detail, and provides a personal lesson plan. Your instructor will introduce and explain each part, and help you work through all the drills & exercises contained within.

Free download on the way!

7SG Assessment

The assessment asks you to demonstrate your practical ability with the material listed in the syllabus.

Free download on the way!

Where Next?

Level Contents
4 Intermediate Stage
5 7th Student Grade (you are here)
End Of Branch
8th Student Grade
End Of Branch
9th Student Grade
End Of Branch